Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join OLA
Share |

Sequoyah Award winning authors Ryan Graudin, Kwame Alexander and Lois Ruby are set to attend the 2018 Oklahoma Library Association Conference in April in Tulsa to receive the 2017 OLA Sequoyah Book Award. This is the first Sequoyah Author presentation where all three authors will be present to receive awards.

The authors will each be presented their award at the Sequoyah Author Celebration on Monday, April 23rd. The author celebration is an opportunity for Oklahoma students to meet and listen to each author speak about writing, books and awards. The event is free but will require pre-registration by school. Registration will begin in January.

Ryan Graudin is the 2017 winner of the High School award for her fast paced alternate history title Wolf by Wolf which was also nominated for the prestigious Carnegie Medal . She has written 6 bestselling books for young adults.

Kwame Alexander is the winner of the Intermediate award for his novel in verse, The Crossover. Crossover also received the 2015 John Newbery Medal for the Most Distinguished Contribution to American Literature for Children. Alexander is a poet, educator, and the New York Times Bestselling author of 24 books for children and young adults.

Lois Ruby is the winner of the Children’s Award for her haunting novel The Doll Graveyard. She is the author of 16 books for children and young adults.

The Sequoyah program, sponsored by the Oklahoma Library Association (OLA), is the third oldest youth-choice literary award in the nation and was developed to encourage young people to read books of literary quality. Students from across the state—who had read three or more titles on their Sequoyah list of age-appropriate books—were eligible to cast their votes. More than 14,000 young readers participated in the vote this year. The first Sequoyah Children's Book Award was given in April, 1959, in 1988, the first Sequoyah Young Adult Book Award was given. Twenty years later the YA book award was changed to “Intermediate Award” and a High School award was created and was first awarded in 2010.

Site Search
Sign In



Oklahoma Library Association
1190 Meramec Station Road, Suite 207, Ballwin, MO 63021-6902
Phone: 800-843-8482 (press option 2) | Fax: 636-529-1396 | Email:

Follow us: OLA on Facebook