Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join OLA
OLA Resolutions: 2013
Share |
The following Resolutions were approved by the membership at the OLA Annual Conference in Ardmore, on April 5, 2013:

Memorial Resolution in Honor of Dr. Connie Van Fleet

WHEREAS Dr. Connie Van Fleet served the Oklahoma Library Association in many capacities such as Oklahoma State Councilor for the American Library Association, chair of the Program Committee and the Intellectual Freedom Committee, and as an active member of other OLA committees and divisions; and

WHEREAS Dr. Van Fleet had a highly distinguished career as a library educator, studying at Louisiana State University and Indiana University at Bloomington, and teaching future librarians at Louisiana State University, Kent State University, and the University of Oklahoma; and

WHEREAS Dr. Van Fleet stood out as a leader in library and information science, serving as president of the Association for Library and Information Science Education and an active member of the Reference and User Services Association in the American Library Association; and

WHEREAS Dr. Van Fleet was a respected author and editor whose contributions to the library literature will long be remembered; and

WHEREAS Dr. Van Fleet was an excellent teacher and mentor who touched the lives and helped shape the careers of many students and library professionals in Oklahoma and other states; and

WHEREAS Dr. Van Fleet was a tireless champion of libraries as well as of professional library associations such as OLA and ALA; and

WHEREAS Dr. Van Fleet inspired us all with her joie de vivre and infectious enthusiasm; therefore be it

RESOLVED, that the Oklahoma Library Association honors the memory of Dr. Connie Van Fleet and commends her for her scholarship, her dedication to library education, her advocacy on behalf of libraries, and her commitment to the association; and be it further

RESOLVED, that the Oklahoma Library Association offers its deepest condolences to her husband and fellow library educator, Dr. Danny Wallace, her family, friends, colleagues, and students, and joins them in celebrating her life.

Resolution to Bid Farewell to Anne Prestamo

WHEREAS Anne Prestamo joined Oklahoma Library Association in 1996 and went on to receive the OLA Outstanding New Librarian Award in 1999; and

WHEREAS she served as the OLA Program Committee Chair in 2001-2001, president of OLA in 2003-2004; and Oklahoma Chapter Councilor to the American Library Association from 2006-2009; and

WHEREAS Anne served as co-chair of the OLA Legislative Committee from 2009-2011, worked on many other OLA committees, and dedicated herself to the association and Oklahoma libraries; and

WHEREAS Anne has represented Oklahoma at the highest levels in OCLC and other national forums, and has been a guiding force in library digital initiatives; and

WHEREAS she has a great fondness for ornamental flamingos in plastic and other artistic media; therefore be it

RESOLVED that the Oklahoma Library Association commends Anne Prestamo for her longtime support of OLA and librarianship in the state of Oklahoma, and wishes her the best in her new position as Dean of University Libraries at Florida International University in a place where she can decorate her lawn with real flamingos.

Resolution Thanking Lynn McIntosh and Pat Weaver Meyers

WHEREAS Lynn McIntosh and Pat Weaver-Meyers served as this year’s co-chairs of the Local Arrangements Committee; and

WHEREAS they and their dedicated committee members have worked tirelessly to ensure the success of this OLA Annual Conference in Ardmore; and

WHEREAS this is the first time in fourteen years that an OLA Conference has been held outside the Oklahoma City or Tulsa metropolitan areas; and

WHEREAS Lynn’s and Pat’s institutions, the Chickasaw Regional Library System and the Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation, have aided OLA many times over the years; and

WHEREAS Ardmore has been the site for many successful OLA meetings and retreats and the home of the last three OLA GOLD Leadership Institutes as well as the upcoming 2013 Institute; therefore be it

RESOLVED that the Oklahoma Library Association extends its sincerest thanks to Lynn McIntosh, Pat Weaver-Meyers, the Chickasaw Regional Library System, the Samuel Roberts Noble Foundation, and the City of Ardmore for their hospitality and support of the association and its members.

Site Search
Sign In



Oklahoma Library Association
1190 Meramec Station Road, Suite 207, Ballwin, MO 63021-6902
Phone: 1-800-969-6562 Ext 5 | Fax: 636-529-1396 | Email:

Follow us: OLA on Facebook