Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Join OLA
2019 Donna Norvell Award Shortlist
Share |

Donna Norvell MedalThe Donna Norvell Book Award was established in 2005 by the Oklahoma Library Association and is given annually, with the first award given in 2006. The Donna Norvell Book Award honors a book that has made a significant contribution to the field of literature for children through second grade. This award is a librarian’s choice award and is selected by the librarians who are members of the Oklahoma Library Association’s Sequoyah Book Award Committee.

The 2019 Donna Norvell Award will be announced at the same time as the winning Sequoyah Book award authors are announced.

This year’s shortlist for the Donna Norvell Award is as follows:

  1. Can I Be Your Dog? By Troy Cummings
  2. Ocean Meets Sky by Terry Fan and Eric Fan
  3. Santa Bruce by Ryan T. Higgins
  4. We Don’t Eat Our Classmates by Ryan T. Higgins
  5. The Remember Balloons by Jessie Oliveros, illustrated by Dana Wulfekott

If you'd like more information, check out the Donna Norvell Oklahoma Book Award page on the Sequoyah Book Award website, or contact the Sequoyah Committee at

Site Search
Sign In



Oklahoma Library Association
1190 Meramec Station Road, Suite 207, Ballwin, MO 63021-6902
Phone: 800-843-8482 (press option 2) | Fax: 636-529-1396 | Email:

Follow us: OLA on Facebook